GRATIS VERZENDING - GEEN MINIMALE AFNAME - VEILIG BETALEN - RUIME KEUZE - SCHERPE PRIJZEN

Dit product bevalt je? Geef het door!

Beschrijving

Continuing in the exuberant tradition of Six of One, Bingo, and Loose Lips, New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown returns to her much-loved fictional hamlet of Runnymede, whose memorable citizens are welcoming both the end of the Great War and the beginning of a new era.

The night a riot breaks out at the Capitol Theater movie house-during a Mary Pickford picture, no less-you can bet that the Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Julia, are nearby. Known locally as Wheezie and Juts, the inimitable, irrepressible, distinctly freethinking sisters and their delightful circle of friends are coming of age in a shifting world-and are determined to understand their place in it. Across town, the well-to-do Chalfonte siblings are preparing for the upcoming wedding of brother Curtis. But for youngest sister Celeste, the celebration brings about a change she never expected and a lesson about love she'll not soon forget.

Set against the backdrop of America emerging from World War I, Cakewalk is an outrageous and affecting novel about a small town where ideas of sin and virtue, love and sex, men and women, politics and religion, can be as divided as the Mason-Dixon Line that runs right through it-and where there's no problem that can't be cured by a good yarn and an even better scotch. With her signature Southern voice, Rita Mae Brown deftly weaves generations of family stories into a spirited patchwork quilt of not-so-simple but joyously rich life.

Praise for Cakewalk

"[Cakewalk] is brimming over with [Rita Mae Brown's] distinctive Southern voice that infuses every page with merriment, which allows her vibrant characters to take over the story and touch readers' hearts. Her depictions of the inhabitants and the era are pitch-perfect as are the many subplots. Readers will feel as if they are living in Runnymede; running around with the teenagers, eavesdropping on the matrons planning the annual cakewalk and hiding in the closet of the wealthy families. An utterly delightful story."-RT Book Reviews

"Brown has said that the Runnymede novels, starting with Six of One, are the ones she was born to write. . . . This is more loving domestic comedy of small-town life when times were simpler. Recommended for fans of Brown and beyond."-Library Journal

"A delightful romp through small-town America, with all of its gossips and laughs, passions and rivalries, and through it all the importance of the thread of family."-Historical Novels Review

"A feel-good novel told by an expert storyteller who delights in creating colorful and quirky characters."-Shelf Awareness

"Two independent and free-thinking sisters, Louise and Julia Hunsenmeir (called Wheezie and Juts), push against the old-fashioned ways of drinking, dancing, and courting. . . . Characters were inspired by Brown's own mother and sister, adding realism and depth to this uplifting story. Fans of Amy Hill Heath and Mary Kay Andrews will eat up this multigenerational 'slice-of-life' novel."-Booklist

"There seems to be no end to [Rita Mae Brown's] imagination, inventiveness, or storytelling artistry. . . . What is [Cakewalk] about? Life, love, baseball, war, peace, good whiskey, fashion, sex, religion, friendship-all in a rollicking and lively story that just keeps rolling along at a brisk pace. Ms. Brown paints such vivid scenes. . . . [Cakewalk is] entertaining, outrageous, thought-provoking, nostalgic, and great fun."-My Merri Way

Recensie

"[Cakewalk] is brimming over with [Rita Mae Brown's] distinctive Southern voice that infuses every page with merriment, which allows her vibrant characters to take over the story and touch readers' hearts. Her depictions of the inhabitants and the era are pitch-perfect as are the many subplots. Readers will feel as if they are living in Runnymede; running around with the teenagers, eavesdropping on the matrons planning the annual cakewalk and hiding in the closet of the wealthy families. An utterly delightful story."-RT Book Reviews

"Brown has said that the Runnymede novels, starting with Six of One, are the ones she was born to write. . . . This is more loving domestic comedy of small-town life when times were simpler. Recommended for fans of Brown and beyond."-Library Journal

"A delightful romp through small-town America, with all of its gossips and laughs, passions and rivalries, and through it all the importance of the thread of family."-Historical Novels Review

"A feel-good novel told by an expert storyteller who delights in creating colorful and quirky characters."-Shelf Awareness

"Two independent and free-thinking sisters, Louise and Julia Hunsenmeir (called Wheezie and Juts), push against the old-fashioned ways of drinking, dancing, and courting. . . . Characters were inspired by Brown's own mother and sister, adding realism and depth to this uplifting story. Fans of Amy Hill Heath and Mary Kay Andrews will eat up this multigenerational 'slice-of-life' novel."-Booklist

"There seems to be no end to [Rita Mae Brown's] imagination, inventiveness, or storytelling artistry. . . . What is [Cakewalk] about? Life, love, baseball, war, peace, good whiskey, fashion, sex, religion, friendship-all in a rollicking and lively story that just keeps rolling along at a brisk pace. Ms. Brown paints such vivid scenes. . . . [Cakewalk is] entertaining, outrageous, thought-provoking, nostalgic, and great fun."-My Merri Way

Praise for Rita Mae Brown's Runnymede novels

Six of One

"Joyous, passionate and funny."-The Washington Post Book World

"No matter how quirky or devilish, Brown's people cavort in an atmosphere of tenderness. . . . It is refreshing to encounter this celebration of human energy."-Chicago Sun-Times

Bingo

"Genuinely funny."-Los Angeles Times

"Vividly drawn characters . . . and tart, loving humor."-Self

Loose Lips

"Surprises . . . come from Rita Mae Brown's comic timing and her affection for eccentrics."-The Seattle Times

"[Brown] does an admirable job of portraying the effects World War II has on one small American town."-The Arizona Republic

Uittreksel

Chapter One January 31, 1920 Saturday Excited because Pollyanna, staring Mary Pickford, was now showing at the Capitol Theater on the corner of Frederick Road and Runnymede Square, Louise Hunsenmeir, nineteen, and her younger sister, Juts, not quite fifteen, hurried through the light snow. The elder sister shot out of her job at the Bon Ton department store as though she'd been fired from the cannon on the south side of the town's center square. Julia, called Juts, ran to catch up with her as she flew from the store. "Wheezie, hey!" Slowing down a bit, the slender Louise called over her shoulder, "Come on, we'll miss the first few minutes." The two trotted, slipping a bit, reaching the theater. A line, not long but long enough, curved down Frederick Road. "Good. They won't start the movie with people still outside." A puff of frosty breath escaped Louise's lips, artfully enhanced with a light shade of lipstick. "Isn't Orrie going to meet you?" Juts named Louise's best friend. "You know Orrie, she slides in at the last minute." Louise peered up the line, then whispered, "Get a load of Lottie Rhodes." Juts stepped a bit out of the line to look at the attractive young woman: too much lipstick, too much of everything. When the line started moving, Juts then said, voice low, "She's got the same coat you do, only yours looks better on you." The two fought night and day but were best friends when they weren't fighting. Louise smiled. "You know how she is in summer. At least she's covered up in the snow." "How do you know? You can't see the front of her and she loves to show it off. Maybe she has snow in her cleavage. And you know who is just as bad? Dimps. She pushes her bosoms on the boys at school, then pretends she has to squeeze by them. Ugh." Delilah Rhodes Jr., called Dimps Jr., as her mother is Big Dimps, obviously had studied her sister Lottie's ploys for male attention. Both of the Rhodes girls, drilled by their mother, teased but drew the line. Big Dimps ran the cosmetics counter at the Bon Ton. She made certain her girls, cosmetics artfully applied, looked alluring. Given a lackluster marriage, Big Dimps's view of same had narrowed to a man's financial capacity or potential for the future. The purpose of this bosom barrage was to ensnare the richest young man possible. As Big Dimps felt she had married beneath her, she was determined her two daughters wouldn't make the same mistake. Surely they would make other ones. "I can't see Lottie's date," Louise grumbled. "Me neither. He's at the window, I think." Paul Trumbull, new to Runnymede, an army veteran from the Great War, purchased two tickets. He'd been seeing Lottie over the fall, a desultory courtship discouraged by Big Dimps because he was a lowly housepainter. As a small rebellion against her mother, this made him somewhat more attractive to Lottie. Also, Paul was quite handsome. Sooner or later Lottie would cave to her mercenary matrimonial purpose, but for now, why not string along as many young men as possible? Southerners referred to such fellows as conquests. Lottie hoped to be spoken of as a woman of many conquests, a trail of broken hearts left behind her. Juts took the ticket her sister had bought for her once they'd reached the ticket booth. "Thank you." "When you get a job, you can take me." "Soon," Juts promised. "You have two more years of school." "I'm bored. I'll finish tenth grade. That's enough." The two greatly resembled one another. Louise had attended Immaculata Academy, paid for by Celeste Chalfonte, their mother's employer, since Louise evidenced musical ability. Louise had converted to Catholicism. Juts, on the other hand, attended South Runnymede High School. She dutifully went to the Lutheran church and didn't believe a word of it. They walked down the right aisle o

Medewerkers

Auteur Rita Mae Brown

Productdetails

DUIN JSTJ4TBVRQR

GTIN 9780553392654

Verschijningsdatum 05.10.2016

Taal Engels

Pagina-aantallen 320

Product type Boek

Maat 240 x 162 x 25  mm

Gewicht van product 522 g

Cakewalk

A Novel

Rita Mae Brown

€ 21,57

Verkoper Dodax

Bezorgdatum: tussen dinsdag, 5. juni en donderdag, 7. juni

Staat Nieuw

Andere koopmogelijkheden

Incl. BTW - Gratis verzenden
1
In winkelmandje plaatsen In winkelmandje plaatsen
€ 21,57
Andere koopmogelijkheden Incl. BTW - Gratis verzenden